Scobiphonic
Songs So Far
Original Song #1 - When Jeff Bezos Dies
4
0:00
-3:51

Original Song #1 - When Jeff Bezos Dies

4

This is the first original song on Scobiphonic. I'm starting this musical journey with a shout out to Woody Guthrie. The current times seem to reflect America's past trials with the moneyed class and monopolies. It seems appropriate to try and harken back to a traditional art form with my own tone.

Remember, I am not a musician, a singer nor a performer. This is my first out of shower experience.

Song Background:

I grew up in Tornado Alley and had my share of working class jobs. The events of December 2021 in Illinois, when an Amazon warehouse collapsed, hit me right in the gut. I've seen the damage to property and lives in the aftermath of a twister. Plus, the hardships of Amazon workers are well documented. I just don't understand how you don't take care of your own, your business family, when you have the means to do so. How do you lose your humanity to that degree?

[For details on the songwriting aspects of this song, read Going Down to the Song Well.]

Shout Out:

Amazon employees work hard and deserve better and safer working conditions. Support the action of the Amazon Labor Union (@amazonlabor) and the resolute efforts of Christian Smalls (@Shut_downAmazon).

Gear:

DAW: Reaper
Effects: Compression, Pitch Correction, EQ
Guitar: Martin X-Series DX1RAE
Strings: D'Addario Extra Light (.010 - .047) 80/20 Bronze
Microphone: Audio-Technica AT2020
Audio Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Co-producer: Lucian Perera

Chords: Revised Oct. 31

Intro & Verse:   C - G - Am - F - C - G - Am  
Pre-Chorus:      F - C -G   
Chorus:             C - G - Am - F - C - G - Am     
Bridge:              Dm - Am (3x) / C -G     

Lyrics:

I live in a small town
Where works hard to find
So I put up with the grind

Scanners track my speed
I keep up the pace
Just waiting for my max out pay

What can a working man do?

Will anybody cry when Jeff Bezos dies?
Will the robots shed a tear?

I work all week, ask my family
Can't afford to use up any more UPT

He shoots into space
For the human race
But there's a lot of pain down here

What can a single dad do?

Will anybody cry when Jeff Bezos dies?
Will the robots shed a tear?

I piss in a bottle to save time
All for the profits of Amazon Prime

I work with injuries
I can't miss a day
Even tornadoes can't get in the way

What can a union do?

Will anybody cry when Jeff Bezos dies?
Will the robots shed a tear?

Thank you for reading Scobiphonic. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Scobiphonic
Songs So Far
Original songs and lyrics published